Delhi new woman mayor 24 January then there is a possibility of another fierce battle between AAP BJP ntc

Delhi new woman mayor 24 January then there is a possibility of another fierce battle between AAP BJP ntc
Aditya Chaudhary

After the municipal elections in Delhi, there is a tussle between the AAP and the BJP over the mayor and deputy mayor. There is a possibility of a big riot for the Mayor of Delhi once again on Tuesday. In the meeting to be held today, the elected councilors will be the first to take oath. Delhi may get a woman mayor tomorrow. The national capital will get a woman mayor for the entire city after 10 years. The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was formed in 1958 and freedom fighter Aruna Asaf Ali was elected as the first mayor in the same year. While law scholar Rajni Abbi was the last mayor before the MCD was divided into three parts in 2011.

Let us tell you that in January 2012, the Sheila Dikshit government of Congress had divided the Municipal Corporation of Delhi into three parts. After this North Delhi (NDMC), South Delhi (SDMC) and East Delhi (EDMC) became Municipal Corporations. Each had its own mayor. However, last year again all three have been united and the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) has come into existence again. The election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Delhi was to be held on 6 January. But the meeting was adjourned due to uproar. Now the second meeting of MCD is going to be held on Tuesday.

First woman mayor to be elected

related news

The term of the House of MCD is five years, but the tenure of the Mayor is for one year. Under the MCD Act, there is a provision for electing a woman councilor as mayor in the first year, while there is no rule in the case of deputy mayor. After this, the post of mayor is normal in the second year, in which any councilor can be elected, but in the third year the post of mayor is reserved for the Dalit community. In such a situation, any councilor coming from Dalit community can be elected mayor, but the post of mayor is unreserved for the fourth and fifth year. There is no provision of reservation on the chairman of the most empowered Standing Committee of MCD. In this way Delhi will get a woman mayor this year.

Road named after Aruna Asaf

Let us tell that the Municipal Corporation of Delhi came into existence in April 1958. The MCD began its journey from the historic Town Hall in Old Delhi in the 1860s and moved to the spectacular Civic Center campus in April 2010. The photographs of Aruna Asaf Ali, the first mayor of Delhi, are still displayed in the Town Hall, in the chambers of the old municipal building and in the offices of the Civic Centre. A major road in the city is also named after him.

‘Fortunate for Delhi’

Former mayor of North Delhi and senior BJP leader Jai Prakash said that it is a matter of good luck for the people of Delhi that now again there will be a mayor for the entire city. He told that Aruna Asaf Ali was the first mayor of Delhi and Rajni Abbi was the last till the MCD was divided into three parts in 2012. Now after 10 years there will be a woman mayor again. It is a matter of great fortune for both of them. Along with the city, the person who will become the mayor of Delhi.

Rajni Abbi won by defeating Congress in 2011

In April 2011, BJP candidate Rajni Abbi defeated Savita Sharma of Congress by 88 votes and was elected Mayor of Delhi. Abbi was then a professor of law at Delhi University and currently serves as the dean of the university. After bifurcation into three parts, in 2012, mayor elections were held for all the three corporations NDMC, SDMC and EDMC. In April 2012, Meera Agarwal was elected unopposed as mayor of the then newly formed MDMC, while her party colleague Azad Singh became the deputy mayor. In May 2012, Annapurna Mishra was unanimously elected mayor of East Delhi, while her party colleague Usha Shastri became deputy mayor.

BJP’s Savita became the mayor of South Delhi in 2012.

Also in May 2012, BJP’s Savita Gupta was elected as the first Mayor of South Delhi in a tough fight. Gupta was the then councilor of Amar Colony. He secured 66 votes and defeated NCP’s Phoolkali by a margin of 20 votes. While BSP’s Bir Singh was elected unopposed as councilor from Madanpur Khadar for the post of deputy mayor.

Competition between AAP and BJP

The meeting of the House is going to be held on January 24 for the second time after the civic elections. AAP’s candidate in the mayoral election is Shelly Oberoi. While Rekha Gupta of BJP is the candidate. Kamal Bagdi from BJP and Aale Mohammad Iqbal from AAP are the candidates for Deputy Mayor. There are seven candidates for the six seats of the Standing Committee. Among them are the names of Kamaljit Shehrawat, Gajendra Daral and Pankaj Luthra from BJP. Aam Malik, Raminder Kaur, Mohini Jinwal and Sarika Chaudhary are named from AAP.

AAP has secured majority

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won the election by winning 134 wards and ended the 15-year rule of the BJP in the civic body. The BJP secured the second position by winning 104 wards. While the Congress won 9 seats in the 250-member municipal house.

Integration took place last year

After the three corporations were integrated into the MCD, a new delimitation exercise was undertaken. In 2012, the total number of wards was 272, which was reduced to 250. Municipal elections were held on December 4 and AAP won a bumper victory. AAP had won 134 seats. While BJP had won 104 seats. The counting of votes took place on 7 December. Last year, North Delhi Municipal Corporation (104 wards), South Delhi Municipal Corporation (104 wards) and East Delhi Municipal Corporation (64 wards) were amalgamated. The Center had brought a law for integration.

see also